AFUL: what they publish

In this database3 headphones
Figures from their own material1 of 3
Share33%

This page does not review anything AFUL makes. It counts one thing: how much of what this database says about their products came out of their own documents, and how much had to be worked out or left blank.

Where each sensitivity figure came from

ModelImpedanceSensitivitySource of the figure
Explorer26 Ω108.0 dB/mWPublished per mW
Performer 535 Ω110.0 dBUnit not stated
Performer 830 Ω115.0 dBUnit not stated

Impedance is almost always printed. Sensitivity is the one that goes wrong, because a decibel figure means two very different things depending on whether it is per milliwatt or per volt — about five decibels apart at 300 Ω and eighteen at 16 Ω. The conversion is here.

  • Published per mW — 1: the maker prints a decibel figure per milliwatt, which is what the database stores
  • Unit not stated — 2: the maker prints a decibel figure with no reference unit, so it is shown as printed and flagged rather than quietly converted

What they print, and what it is worth

ModelAs printedToleranceStandard
Explorernothing printed——
Performer 55Hz-35kHznot printednot printed
Performer 85Hz-35kHznot printednot printed

AFUL prints a frequency range for 2 of all 3 models here whose sheets have been read, and nothing for the other 1.

Not one of those ranges comes with a tolerance in decibels. Without a ±dB figure a range says nothing about how loud the headphone is at either end of it, which puts AFUL with the majority: of the 490 models across this database whose maker prints a range, 58 print the tolerance.

Every range stands under the same heading: “Frequency Response Range”.

No measurement is published here — only what was printed. The whole count, maker by maker, is in the frequency response audit.

What reaches 100 dB on all 3

The hardest of the 3 to drive is the AFUL Explorer: 0.16 mW and 64 mV for a 100 dB SPL peak. Their impedances run from 26 to 35 Ω, which matters because the voltage a headphone wants rises with impedance while the power falls.

280 of the 280 sources here reach 100 dB on all 3, and the cheapest of them is the Apple USB-C dongle (EU) at $9. “Reaches” means the maker’s own published power figure is enough at that load; it is not a judgement of how it sounds.

On hiss the count is smaller, because most of the industry does not publish a noise figure at all: of the 83 sources here that do, 57 stay under the threshold of hearing on all 3 of their in-ears. The one to watch is the AFUL Performer 8 at 130 dB/V — the more sensitive the in-ear, the more of the amplifier’s own noise you hear.

Their lowest impedance is the AFUL Explorer at 26 Ω, so a source wants an output impedance at or below 3.2 Ω to satisfy the one-eighth rule on everything they make. 134 of the 169 sources that publish an output impedance manage that.

These counts use figures the source makers published themselves. A product that publishes nothing is not counted as a pass anywhere above, which is why the three numbers differ so much. The collection matcher runs the same arithmetic over whatever you actually own.

↑