HarmonicDyne: what they publish

In this database2 headphones
Figures from their own material0 of 2
Share0%

This page does not review anything HarmonicDyne makes. It counts one thing: how much of what this database says about their products came out of their own documents, and how much had to be worked out or left blank.

Where each sensitivity figure came from

ModelImpedanceSensitivitySource of the figure
Poseidon64 Ω103.0 dBUnit not stated from a shop listing
Zeus64 Ω100.0 dBUnit not stated from a shop listing

Impedance is almost always printed. Sensitivity is the one that goes wrong, because a decibel figure means two very different things depending on whether it is per milliwatt or per volt — about five decibels apart at 300 Ω and eighteen at 16 Ω. The conversion is here.

  • Unit not stated — 2: the maker prints a decibel figure with no reference unit, so it is shown as printed and flagged rather than quietly converted
  • From a shop listing — 2: the figure is not on any page HarmonicDyne publishes. The label beside it says which unit the figure is in; it does not say the maker printed it. Those pages name the shop and say so.

What they print, and what it is worth

ModelAs printedToleranceStandard
Poseidon10Hz to 40kHznot printednot printed
Zeus10Hz to 40kHznot printednot printed

HarmonicDyne prints a frequency range for both models here whose sheets have been read.

Not one of those ranges comes with a tolerance in decibels. Without a ±dB figure a range says nothing about how loud the headphone is at either end of it, which puts HarmonicDyne with the majority: of the 490 models across this database whose maker prints a range, 58 print the tolerance.

Every range stands under the same heading, give or take a capital letter: “Frequency response”.

2 of these figures stand on a shop listing rather than on anything HarmonicDyne published; those model pages name the shop.

No measurement is published here — only what was printed. The whole count, maker by maker, is in the frequency response audit.

What reaches 100 dB on all 2

The hardest of the 2 to drive is the HarmonicDyne Zeus: 1.0 mW and 0.25 V for a 100 dB SPL peak. Their impedances run from 64 to 64 Ω, which matters because the voltage a headphone wants rises with impedance while the power falls.

280 of the 280 sources here reach 100 dB on all 2, and the cheapest of them is the Apple USB-C dongle (EU) at $9. “Reaches” means the maker’s own published power figure is enough at that load; it is not a judgement of how it sounds.

Their lowest impedance is the HarmonicDyne Zeus at 64 Ω, so a source wants an output impedance at or below 8.0 Ω to satisfy the one-eighth rule on everything they make. 135 of the 169 sources that publish an output impedance manage that.

These counts use figures the source makers published themselves. A product that publishes nothing is not counted as a pass anywhere above, which is why the three numbers differ so much. The collection matcher runs the same arithmetic over whatever you actually own.

↑