HiFiMAN: what they publish

In this database28 headphones and 2 sources
Figures from their own material2 of 34
Share6%

This page does not review anything HiFiMAN makes. It counts one thing: how much of what this database says about their products came out of their own documents, and how much had to be worked out or left blank.

Where each sensitivity figure came from

ModelImpedanceSensitivitySource of the figure
Ananda26 Ω93.0 dBUnit not stated
Ananda Nano14 Ω94.0 dBUnit not stated
Ananda Unveiled22 Ω93.0 dBUnit not stated
Arya35 Ω90.0 dBUnit not stated
Arya Organic16 Ω94.0 dBUnit not stated
Arya Stealth32 Ω94.0 dBUnit not stated
Arya Unveiled27 Ω94.0 dBUnit not stated
Deva Pro18 Ω93.5 dBUnit not stated
Edition XS18 Ω92.0 dBUnit not stated
Edition XV12 Ω92.0 dBUnit not stated
HE-4XX (Drop)35 Ω93.0 dBNot published
HE-6se V250 Ω83.5 dBUnit not stated
HE-R960 Ω100.0 dBUnit not stated
HE1000 Unveiled28 Ω95.0 dBUnit not stated
HE1000 V235 Ω90.0 dBUnit not stated
HE1000se35 Ω96.0 dBUnit not stated
HE400i 202035 Ω93.0 dBUnit not stated
HE400se25 Ω91.0 dBUnit not stated
HE5XX (Drop)18 Ω93.5 dBUnit not stated
HE6 Remastered50 Ω83.5 dBUnit not stated
HE60028 Ω94.0 dBUnit not stated
Jade II60 Ω—Not published
RE800 Gold60 Ω105.0 dBUnit not stated
Sundara32 Ω92.0 dBUnit not stated
Sundara Closed20 Ω98.0 dBUnit not stated
Susvara60 Ω83.0 dBUnit not stated
Susvara Unveiled45 Ω86.0 dBUnit not stated
Svanar Wireless26 Ω98.0 dBNot published

Impedance is almost always printed. Sensitivity is the one that goes wrong, because a decibel figure means two very different things depending on whether it is per milliwatt or per volt — about five decibels apart at 300 Ω and eighteen at 16 Ω. The conversion is here.

  • Unit not stated — 25: the maker prints a decibel figure with no reference unit, so it is shown as printed and flagged rather than quietly converted
  • Not published — 3: no sensitivity figure in anything the maker published

What they print, and what it is worth

ModelAs printedToleranceStandard
Ananda8Hz – 55k Hznot printednot printed
Ananda Nano5Hz-55kHznot printednot printed
Ananda Unveiled5Hz-55kHznot printednot printed
Arya8Hz-65kHznot printednot printed
Arya Organic8Hz-65kHznot printednot printed
Arya Stealth8Hz - 65kHznot printednot printed
Arya Unveiled8Hz - 65kHznot printednot printed
Deva Pro20Hz-20kHznot printednot printed
Edition XS8Hz-50kHznot printednot printed
Edition XV8Hz – 50k Hznot printednot printed
HE-6se V28Hz- 65 KHznot printednot printed
HE-R915Hz-35kHznot printednot printed
HE1000 Unveiled8Hz - 65kHznot printednot printed
HE1000 V28Hz-65KHznot printednot printed
HE1000se8Hz-65kHznot printednot printed
HE400i 202020Hz-35KHznot printednot printed
HE400se20Hz - 20kHznot printednot printed
HE5XX (Drop)20 Hz - 20 kHznot printednot printed
HE6 Remastered8 Hz - 65 kHznot printednot printed
HE6008Hz - 65kHznot printednot printed
Jade II7Hz-90kHznot printednot printed
RE800 Gold5Hz-20kHznot printednot printed
Sundara6Hz-75kHznot printednot printed
Sundara Closed6Hz-50kHznot printednot printed
Susvara6Hz-75kHznot printednot printed
Susvara Unveiled6Hz - 75kHznot printednot printed
Svanar Wireless10Hz-35kHznot printednot printed

HiFiMAN prints a frequency range for all 27 models here whose sheets have been read.

Not one of those ranges comes with a tolerance in decibels. Without a ±dB figure a range says nothing about how loud the headphone is at either end of it, which puts HiFiMAN with the majority: of the 490 models across this database whose maker prints a range, 58 print the tolerance.

Every range stands under the same heading, give or take a capital letter: “Frequency Response”.

1 further model of theirs in this database has no page left on their site at all, so there is nothing to read for it either way. That is counted separately from printing nothing, because it is a different fact.

No measurement is published here — only what was printed. The whole count, maker by maker, is in the frequency response audit.

What reaches 100 dB on all 27

The hardest of the 27 to drive is the HiFiMAN Susvara: 50 mW and 1.73 V for a 100 dB SPL peak. Their impedances run from 12 to 60 Ω, which matters because the voltage a headphone wants rises with impedance while the power falls.

231 of the 280 sources here reach 100 dB on all 27, and the cheapest of them is the FiiO KA11 at $29. “Reaches” means the maker’s own published power figure is enough at that load; it is not a judgement of how it sounds.

On hiss the count is smaller, because most of the industry does not publish a noise figure at all: of the 83 sources here that do, 82 stay under the threshold of hearing on all 2 of their in-ears. The one to watch is the HiFiMAN RE800 Gold at 117 dB/V — the more sensitive the in-ear, the more of the amplifier’s own noise you hear.

Their lowest impedance is the HiFiMAN Edition XV at 12 Ω, so a source wants an output impedance at or below 1.5 Ω to satisfy the one-eighth rule on everything they make. 129 of the 169 sources that publish an output impedance manage that.

These counts use figures the source makers published themselves. A product that publishes nothing is not counted as a pass anywhere above, which is why the three numbers differ so much. The collection matcher runs the same arithmetic over whatever you actually own.

The three figures that decide a match

ProductInto 32ΩOutput impedanceOutput noise
HiFiMAN EF5001.3 Wnot publishednot published
HiFiMAN EF6001.8 Wnot publishednot published

Power decides whether it gets loud enough, output impedance decides whether it tilts the response of a multi-driver in-ear, and the noise figure decides whether you hear hiss with sensitive ones. All three fit on one line of a spec sheet; most of the industry prints one of them.

HiFiMAN publishes a power figure at a stated load on 2 of 2, output impedance on 0, a noise figure on 0. Of the 8 power figures this site displays for them at 32, 150, 300 and 600 Ω: 2 printed by HiFiMAN at that exact load, 6 worked out by holding output voltage steady across loads.

What the paperwork adds up to

Very little of what this site says about HiFiMAN came from them. That is not an accusation about how their products sound — it is a statement about their paperwork, and it is the reason those pages carry so many qualifiers.

The rule used here is the same for every maker and is described on the manufacturer index. Every figure behind it can be opened on the product page it came from, with the document it came from linked.

↑