This page does not review anything Philips makes. It counts one thing: how much of what this database says about their products came out of their own documents, and how much had to be worked out or left blank.
| Model | Impedance | Sensitivity | Source of the figure |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fidelio L3 | 16 Ω | 103.0 dB | Unit not stated |
| Fidelio X3 | 30 Ω | 98.0 dB/mW | Published per mW |
| SHP9500 | 32 Ω | 101.0 dB | Unit not stated |
| SHP9500S | 32 Ω | 102.0 dB | Unit not stated |
| SHP9600 | 32 Ω | 102.0 dB | Unit not stated |
| X2HR | 30 Ω | 100.0 dB/mW | Published per mW |
Impedance is almost always printed. Sensitivity is the one that goes wrong, because a decibel figure means two very different things depending on whether it is per milliwatt or per volt — about five decibels apart at 300 Ω and eighteen at 16 Ω. The conversion is here.
| Model | As printed | Tolerance | Standard |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fidelio L3 | 7 - 40,000 Hz | not printed | not printed |
| Fidelio X3 | 5 - 40,000 Hz | not printed | not printed |
| SHP9500 | 12 - 35 000 Hz | not printed | not printed |
| SHP9500S | 6 - 35 000 Hz | not printed | not printed |
| SHP9600 | 6 - 35,000 Hz | not printed | not printed |
| X2HR | 5 - 40,000 Hz | not printed | not printed |
Philips prints a frequency range for all 6 models here whose sheets have been read.
Not one of those ranges comes with a tolerance in decibels. Without a ±dB figure a range says nothing about how loud the headphone is at either end of it, which puts Philips with the majority: of the 490 models across this database whose maker prints a range, 58 print the tolerance.
The rows are not even called the same thing twice: 2 different headings across 6 models (“Frequency range”, “Frequency response”).
No measurement is published here — only what was printed. The whole count, maker by maker, is in the frequency response audit.
The hardest of the 6 to drive is the Philips Fidelio X3: 1.6 mW and 0.22 V for a 100 dB SPL peak. Their impedances run from 16 to 32 Ω, which matters because the voltage a headphone wants rises with impedance while the power falls.
280 of the 280 sources here reach 100 dB on all 6, and the cheapest of them is the Apple USB-C dongle (EU) at $9. “Reaches” means the maker’s own published power figure is enough at that load; it is not a judgement of how it sounds.
Their lowest impedance is the Philips Fidelio L3 at 16 Ω, so a source wants an output impedance at or below 2.0 Ω to satisfy the one-eighth rule on everything they make. 134 of the 169 sources that publish an output impedance manage that.
These counts use figures the source makers published themselves. A product that publishes nothing is not counted as a pass anywhere above, which is why the three numbers differ so much. The collection matcher runs the same arithmetic over whatever you actually own.
Rather less than half of what this site says about Philips came from them. The rest is arithmetic, and it is marked as arithmetic on every page.
The rule used here is the same for every maker and is described on the manufacturer index. Every figure behind it can be opened on the product page it came from, with the document it came from linked.