Simgot: what they publish

In this database7 headphones
Figures from their own material2 of 7
Share29%

This page does not review anything Simgot makes. It counts one thing: how much of what this database says about their products came out of their own documents, and how much had to be worked out or left blank.

Where each sensitivity figure came from

ModelImpedanceSensitivitySource of the figure
EA50016 Ω123.0 dBUnit not stated
EA500LM21 Ω106.2 dB/mWConverted from per volt from a shop listing
EM1041.6 Ω106.2 dB/mWConverted from per volt from a shop listing
EM6L26 Ω103.1 dB/mWConverted from per volt
EW20016 Ω108.0 dB/mWConverted from per volt
EW30028 Ω105.5 dB/mWConverted from per volt from a shop listing
SuperMix 47.2 Ω98.6 dB/mWConverted from per volt from a shop listing

Impedance is almost always printed. Sensitivity is the one that goes wrong, because a decibel figure means two very different things depending on whether it is per milliwatt or per volt — about five decibels apart at 300 Ω and eighteen at 16 Ω. The conversion is here.

  • Converted from per volt — 6: the maker prints a figure per volt, converted here with dB/mW = dB/V − 10·log10(1000/Z)
  • Unit not stated — 1: the maker prints a decibel figure with no reference unit, so it is shown as printed and flagged rather than quietly converted
  • From a shop listing — 4: the figure is not on any page Simgot publishes. The label beside it says which unit the figure is in; it does not say the maker printed it. Those pages name the shop and say so.

What they print, and what it is worth

ModelAs printedToleranceStandard
EA500LM10Hz–50kHznot printednot printed
 20Hz–20kHznot printednot printed
EM108Hz-40kHznot printednot printed
 20Hz-20kHznot printednot printed
SuperMix 48Hz-40kHznot printednot printed
 20Hz-20kHznot printednot printed

Simgot prints a frequency range for all 3 models here whose sheets have been read.

Not one of those ranges comes with a tolerance in decibels. Without a ±dB figure a range says nothing about how loud the headphone is at either end of it, which puts Simgot with the majority: of the 490 models across this database whose maker prints a range, 58 print the tolerance.

The rows are not even called the same thing twice: 3 different headings across 3 models (“Effective Frequency Response”, “Frequency Range”, “Frequency Response Range”).

3 of these figures stand on a shop listing rather than on anything Simgot published; those model pages name the shop.

4 further models of theirs in this database have no page left on their site at all, so there is nothing to read for them either way. That is counted separately from printing nothing, because it is a different fact.

No measurement is published here — only what was printed. The whole count, maker by maker, is in the frequency response audit.

What reaches 100 dB on all 7

The hardest of the 7 to drive is the Simgot EM6L: 0.49 mW and 0.11 V for a 100 dB SPL peak. Their impedances run from 7.2 to 41.6 Ω, which matters because the voltage a headphone wants rises with impedance while the power falls.

280 of the 280 sources here reach 100 dB on all 7, and the cheapest of them is the Apple USB-C dongle (EU) at $9. “Reaches” means the maker’s own published power figure is enough at that load; it is not a judgement of how it sounds.

On hiss the count is smaller, because most of the industry does not publish a noise figure at all: of the 83 sources here that do, 5 stay under the threshold of hearing on all 7 of their in-ears. The one to watch is the Simgot EA500 at 141 dB/V — the more sensitive the in-ear, the more of the amplifier’s own noise you hear.

Their lowest impedance is the Simgot SuperMix 4 at 7.2 Ω, so a source wants an output impedance at or below 0.90 Ω to satisfy the one-eighth rule on everything they make. 89 of the 169 sources that publish an output impedance manage that.

These counts use figures the source makers published themselves. A product that publishes nothing is not counted as a pass anywhere above, which is why the three numbers differ so much. The collection matcher runs the same arithmetic over whatever you actually own.

What the paperwork adds up to

Very little of what this site says about Simgot came from them. That is not an accusation about how their products sound — it is a statement about their paperwork, and it is the reason those pages carry so many qualifiers.

The rule used here is the same for every maker and is described on the manufacturer index. Every figure behind it can be opened on the product page it came from, with the document it came from linked.

↑