Hidizs: what they publish

In this database8 headphones and 5 sources
Figures from their own material5 of 23
Share22%

This page does not review anything Hidizs makes. It counts one thing: how much of what this database says about their products came out of their own documents, and how much had to be worked out or left blank.

Where each sensitivity figure came from

ModelImpedanceSensitivitySource of the figure
MK10 ArcSonics32 Ω113.0 dBUnit not stated
MK12 Turris32 Ω111.0 dBUnit not stated
MK12 x DucBloke32 Ω111.0 dBUnit not stated
MP143 Salt17 Ω103.0 dBUnit not stated
MP14530 Ω104.0 dBUnit not stated
MP145 PRO30 Ω104.0 dBUnit not stated
MS2 PRO17 Ω111.0 dBUnit not stated
MY LIN17 Ω111.0 dBUnit not stated

Impedance is almost always printed. Sensitivity is the one that goes wrong, because a decibel figure means two very different things depending on whether it is per milliwatt or per volt — about five decibels apart at 300 Ω and eighteen at 16 Ω. The conversion is here.

  • Unit not stated — 8: the maker prints a decibel figure with no reference unit, so it is shown as printed and flagged rather than quietly converted

What they print, and what it is worth

ModelAs printedToleranceStandard
MK10 ArcSonics20Hz-40kHznot printednot printed
MK12 Turris10Hz-45kHznot printednot printed
MK12 x DucBloke10Hz-45kHznot printednot printed
MP143 Salt20Hz to 40kHznot printednot printed
MP14520Hz-40kHz effective frequency rangenot printednot printed
MP145 PRO20Hz to 40kHznot printednot printed
MS2 PROnothing printed——
MY LIN20Hz–40kHznot printednot printed

Hidizs prints a frequency range for 7 of all 8 models here whose sheets have been read, and nothing for the other 1.

Not one of those ranges comes with a tolerance in decibels. Without a ±dB figure a range says nothing about how loud the headphone is at either end of it, which puts Hidizs with the majority: of the 490 models across this database whose maker prints a range, 58 print the tolerance.

The rows are not even called the same thing twice: 2 different headings across 7 models (“Frequency Response”, “Wide Frequency Response”).

No measurement is published here — only what was printed. The whole count, maker by maker, is in the frequency response audit.

What reaches 100 dB on all 8

The hardest of the 8 to drive is the Hidizs MP145: 0.40 mW and 0.11 V for a 100 dB SPL peak. Their impedances run from 17 to 32 Ω, which matters because the voltage a headphone wants rises with impedance while the power falls.

280 of the 280 sources here reach 100 dB on all 8, and the cheapest of them is the Apple USB-C dongle (EU) at $9. “Reaches” means the maker’s own published power figure is enough at that load; it is not a judgement of how it sounds.

On hiss the count is smaller, because most of the industry does not publish a noise figure at all: of the 83 sources here that do, 63 stay under the threshold of hearing on all 8 of their in-ears. The one to watch is the Hidizs MS2 PRO at 129 dB/V — the more sensitive the in-ear, the more of the amplifier’s own noise you hear.

Their lowest impedance is the Hidizs MP143 Salt at 17 Ω, so a source wants an output impedance at or below 2.1 Ω to satisfy the one-eighth rule on everything they make. 134 of the 169 sources that publish an output impedance manage that.

These counts use figures the source makers published themselves. A product that publishes nothing is not counted as a pass anywhere above, which is why the three numbers differ so much. The collection matcher runs the same arithmetic over whatever you actually own.

The three figures that decide a match

ProductInto 32ΩOutput impedanceOutput noise
Hidizs SD270 mWnot publishednot published
Hidizs S9 Pro100 mW0.3 Ω unverified4 µV unverified
Hidizs S9 Pro Plus138 mWnot publishednot published
Hidizs AP80 Pro Max70 mWnot publishednot published
Hidizs AP80 Pro-X70 mWnot publishednot published

Power decides whether it gets loud enough, output impedance decides whether it tilts the response of a multi-driver in-ear, and the noise figure decides whether you hear hiss with sensitive ones. All three fit on one line of a spec sheet; most of the industry prints one of them.

Hidizs publishes a power figure at a stated load on 5 of 5, output impedance on 0, a noise figure on 0. Of the 20 power figures this site displays for them at 32, 150, 300 and 600 Ω: 5 printed by Hidizs at that exact load, 15 worked out by holding output voltage steady across loads.

What the paperwork adds up to

Very little of what this site says about Hidizs came from them. That is not an accusation about how their products sound — it is a statement about their paperwork, and it is the reason those pages carry so many qualifiers.

The rule used here is the same for every maker and is described on the manufacturer index. Every figure behind it can be opened on the product page it came from, with the document it came from linked.

↑