Spirit Torino: what they publish

In this database1 headphone
Figures from their own material0 of 1
Share0%

This page does not review anything Spirit Torino makes. It counts one thing: how much of what this database says about their products came out of their own documents, and how much had to be worked out or left blank.

Where each sensitivity figure came from

ModelImpedanceSensitivitySource of the figure
Valkyria Titanium64 Ω90.0 dBUnit not stated

Impedance is almost always printed. Sensitivity is the one that goes wrong, because a decibel figure means two very different things depending on whether it is per milliwatt or per volt — about five decibels apart at 300 Ω and eighteen at 16 Ω. The conversion is here.

  • Unit not stated — 1: the maker prints a decibel figure with no reference unit, so it is shown as printed and flagged rather than quietly converted

What they print, and what it is worth

ModelAs printedToleranceStandard
Valkyria Titanium18.35-000 hz calibrated on isophonic curvesnot printednot printed

Spirit Torino prints a frequency range for the one model here whose sheet has been read.

Not one of those ranges comes with a tolerance in decibels. Without a ±dB figure a range says nothing about how loud the headphone is at either end of it, which puts Spirit Torino with the majority: of the 490 models across this database whose maker prints a range, 58 print the tolerance.

Every range stands under the same heading: “FREQUENCY RESPONSE”.

No measurement is published here — only what was printed. The whole count, maker by maker, is in the frequency response audit.

What reaches 100 dB on it

The Spirit Torino Valkyria Titanium needs 10 mW and 0.80 V for a 100 dB SPL peak at 64 Ω.

277 of the 280 sources here reach 100 dB on it, and the cheapest of them is the Apple USB-C dongle (US) at $9. “Reaches” means the maker’s own published power figure is enough at that load; it is not a judgement of how it sounds.

Their lowest impedance is the Spirit Torino Valkyria Titanium at 64 Ω, so a source wants an output impedance at or below 8.0 Ω to satisfy the one-eighth rule on everything they make. 135 of the 169 sources that publish an output impedance manage that.

These counts use figures the source makers published themselves. A product that publishes nothing is not counted as a pass anywhere above, which is why the three numbers differ so much. The collection matcher runs the same arithmetic over whatever you actually own.

↑