Thieaudio: what they publish

In this database12 headphones
Figures from their own material0 of 12
Share0%

This page does not review anything Thieaudio makes. It counts one thing: how much of what this database says about their products came out of their own documents, and how much had to be worked out or left blank.

Where each sensitivity figure came from

ModelImpedanceSensitivitySource of the figure
Ghost60 Ω91.0 dBUnit not stated
Hype 1018 Ω87.6 dB/mWConverted from per volt from a shop listing
Hype 216 Ω104.0 dBNot published
Hype 417 Ω105.0 dBUnit not stated from a shop listing
Hype 4 MKII18 Ω101.0 dBUnit not stated
Monarch MK320 Ω99.0 dBUnit not stated
Monarch MKII36 Ω108.0 dBUnit not stated
Monarch MKIV10 Ω100.0 dBUnit not stated
Oracle MKII15 Ω104.0 dBNot published
Origin9 Ω102.0 dBUnit not stated
Phantom47 Ω93.0 dBUnit not stated from a shop listing
Prestige LTD22 Ω99.0 dBUnit not stated

Impedance is almost always printed. Sensitivity is the one that goes wrong, because a decibel figure means two very different things depending on whether it is per milliwatt or per volt — about five decibels apart at 300 Ω and eighteen at 16 Ω. The conversion is here.

  • Converted from per volt — 1: the maker prints a figure per volt, converted here with dB/mW = dB/V − 10·log10(1000/Z)
  • Unit not stated — 9: the maker prints a decibel figure with no reference unit, so it is shown as printed and flagged rather than quietly converted
  • Not published — 2: no sensitivity figure in anything the maker published
  • From a shop listing — 3: the figure is not on any page Thieaudio publishes. The label beside it says which unit the figure is in; it does not say the maker printed it. Those pages name the shop and say so.

What they print, and what it is worth

ModelAs printedToleranceStandard
Ghostnothing printed——
Hype 4nothing printed——
Hype 4 MKII5Hz–22kHznot printednot printed
Monarch MK3nothing printed——
Monarch MKIInothing printed——
Monarch MKIV10Hz – 44kHznot printednot printed
Oracle MKIInothing printed——
Origin20Hz – 44kHznot printednot printed
Phantom5 Hz - 50 kHznot printednot printed
Prestige LTDnothing printed——

Thieaudio prints a frequency range for 4 of all 10 models here whose sheets have been read, and nothing for the other 6.

Not one of those ranges comes with a tolerance in decibels. Without a ±dB figure a range says nothing about how loud the headphone is at either end of it, which puts Thieaudio with the majority: of the 490 models across this database whose maker prints a range, 58 print the tolerance.

The rows are not even called the same thing twice: 2 different headings across 4 models (“Frequency Response”, “Frequency response range”).

1 of these figures stand on a shop listing rather than on anything Thieaudio published; those model pages name the shop.

2 further models of theirs in this database have no page left on their site at all, so there is nothing to read for them either way. That is counted separately from printing nothing, because it is a different fact.

No measurement is published here — only what was printed. The whole count, maker by maker, is in the frequency response audit.

What reaches 100 dB on all 12

The hardest of the 12 to drive is the Thieaudio Ghost: 7.9 mW and 0.69 V for a 100 dB SPL peak. Their impedances run from 9 to 60 Ω, which matters because the voltage a headphone wants rises with impedance while the power falls.

264 of the 280 sources here reach 100 dB on all 12, and the cheapest of them is the Generic CX31993 dongles at $12. “Reaches” means the maker’s own published power figure is enough at that load; it is not a judgement of how it sounds.

On hiss the count is smaller, because most of the industry does not publish a noise figure at all: of the 83 sources here that do, 80 stay under the threshold of hearing on all 10 of their in-ears. The one to watch is the Thieaudio Hype 4 at 123 dB/V — the more sensitive the in-ear, the more of the amplifier’s own noise you hear.

Their lowest impedance is the Thieaudio Origin at 9 Ω, so a source wants an output impedance at or below 1.1 Ω to satisfy the one-eighth rule on everything they make. 123 of the 169 sources that publish an output impedance manage that.

These counts use figures the source makers published themselves. A product that publishes nothing is not counted as a pass anywhere above, which is why the three numbers differ so much. The collection matcher runs the same arithmetic over whatever you actually own.

What the paperwork adds up to

Very little of what this site says about Thieaudio came from them. That is not an accusation about how their products sound — it is a statement about their paperwork, and it is the reason those pages carry so many qualifiers.

The rule used here is the same for every maker and is described on the manufacturer index. Every figure behind it can be opened on the product page it came from, with the document it came from linked.

↑